top of page
prison-tour-chicago-movie-tours-pano.jpeg

Reviews

Will you enjoy our tours and virtual experiences? Don't take our word for it. Take theirs.

Leave a Review
View Our Reviews

Jamie

Art of Ferris Bueller

average rating is 5 out of 5
What a fun and interesting way to spend a couple hours in the Art Institute! We learned things about the art pieces and the movie, in a wonderfully conversational way. Kelli was great, absolutely 5 stars!

Apr 6, 2024

trip-advisor-logo.png

GM

Art of Ferris Bueller

average rating is 5 out of 5
Insightful, entertaining and fun! I really enjoyed the connections Kelli made between the art, the characters and John Hughes’ intentions.

Apr 5, 2024

trip-advisor-logo.png

Lisa D

Art of Ferris Bueller

average rating is 5 out of 5
Kelli’s tour was equal parts informative and entertaining, which made for a fantastic experience. She also took the time in the preceding days to pass on information to make navigating the city easier for our arrival, which was appreciated. We are hoping to do more of her tours on future visits!

Mar 16, 2024

trip-advisor-logo.png

Anonymous

In-Person Talk

average rating is 5 out of 5
Great presentation! Kelli was a great speaker, the video footage was amazing, and the song ["It's So Hard to Say Goodbye"] was a nice touch to add. I learned a lot! Very interesting stuff!

Feb 6, 2024

trip-advisor-logo.png

Sophie and Elliot

Art of Ferris Bueller

average rating is 5 out of 5
Amazing tour guide! Very informational and entertaining, the guide is great at engaging her audience and extremely nice. I learned lots about the movie and the city!

Dec 31, 2023

trip-advisor-logo.png

Patti

Art of Ferris Bueller

average rating is 5 out of 5
Don't think twice--Just book this tour!!! My husband and I were planning to visit the Art Institute of Chicago during our trip to downtown Chicago. We came across a listing for The Art of Ferris Bueller tour, and as big fans of the movie, we thought it would be an excellent add on for our museum visit. What a great decision as the tour was fantastic! We learned so much and had a blast! The reason this tour is unique is because Kelli, the tour guide, is not your average part-time guide who has learned a script. She is educated in the humanities and has a PhD in Film Studies. The way she interwove scenes from the movie (on her handy dandy tablet) with the art on display and her own insights into filmmaking was incredible. On this tour you not only learn things about Ferris Bueller's Day Off that you didn't know, but you also get a very insightful lesson on relevant art history. We absolutely loved how Kelli achieved all this in such an entertaining and engaging way. This tour is perfect for a range of ages and whether this is your first visit to the Art Institute or you have been many times before. We suggest giving yourself an hour or so before the tour begins or planning to stay after to enjoy other areas of the museum as well. I have to stop now...I need to go sign up for more Chicago Movie Tours. We're hooked!

Nov 10, 2023

trip-advisor-logo.png

Avery

Art of Ferris Bueller

average rating is 5 out of 5
Unforgettable invaluable experience!!! Kelli is incredible!!! So kind, knowledgeable, and flexible. She took us exactly where we wanted to go (so we could recreate famous Ferris scenes). We learned so so much about the building, art and movie! An unforgettable and unique experience I would recommend to all my friends.

Apr 5, 2024

trip-advisor-logo.png

Geoffrey

Art of Ferris Bueller

average rating is 5 out of 5
Kelli’s Ferris themed tour of the Art Institute was fantastic. The connections she made between the art pieces, the movie characters and John Hughes’ intentions was illuminating, insightful and fun. I highly recommend it!

Apr 4, 2024

trip-advisor-logo.png

Elisha

Art of Ferris Bueller

average rating is 5 out of 5
Great school trip! A really great tour that opened up a Chicago spot (the Art Institute) through the lens of film. It made the movie more highly recommended for film buffs or art students or anyone who just wants a fun in-road into the city's history.

Mar 8, 2024

trip-advisor-logo.png

Michelle

Art of Ferris Bueller

average rating is 5 out of 5
We loved this tour and we LOVED Kelli! It was my daughters' first trip to the Art Institute and since Ferris Bueller's Day Off is a family favorite of ours we thought we'd try it! We learned so much about the movie, the art, and the Art Institute! The size of the group was perfect, Kelli was very knowledgeable and a wonderful tour guide! Thank you for offering this experience, definitely a memory we will never forget!

Jan 20, 2024

trip-advisor-logo.png

Cristen

Art of Ferris Bueller

average rating is 5 out of 5
I did one of the Ferris Bueller's Day Off tours and found it an absolute delight. Clearly a lot of research has been put into crafting this tour; despite claiming not to be an art expert, she did a very credible job of relating the history of the paintings and how their use in the film helps to further character development. Though the tour touches on everything from Chicago history to fine art to film, the delivery is fun and enjoyable, with something for everyone. It's the best type of tour where you learn a lot, but you don't FEEL like you're learning. Note that there IS a lot of standing/walking and you move through the museum fast. However, she was extremely conscientious about the needs of her guests and was constantly checking not just on our comfort, but also to make sure that she moved her group through the museum without blocking/annoying any other patrons. I had a great time and will be back to check out her other tours!

Dec 9, 2023

trip-advisor-logo.png

Sarah

Dark Hollywood in Chicago

average rating is 5 out of 5
So glad I made the decision to attend my first tour with Chicago Movie Tours (Dark Hollywood in Chicago at Oz Park). The tour was fun and interactive. Kelli did a fantastic job of presenting and leading! She was a joy! Different mediums were used (book, photo, video, examining statues on the tour, & stories) to share history and movie knowledge. I learned a lot of information that I’ve been excited to share with others! Kelli did a wonderful job bringing Chicago and (multiple) movies together on this tour. Looking forward to attending more tours!

Nov 1, 2023

trip-advisor-logo.png

Sarah

Art of Ferris Bueller

average rating is 5 out of 5
We thoroughly enjoyed our tour with Kelli. She clearly has a passion for and deep knowledge of the subject matter and was able to answer all sorts of quirky questions we threw at her. She was very thoughtful about our experience (e.g., making sure to give us breaks to sit, checking to make sure we were good with climbing stairs, etc.). We were traveling with an 11 and 14 YO and she did a great job of keeping them engaged. And she just has a lovely energy/was fun to hang out with for 90 minutes!

Apr 5, 2024

trip-advisor-logo.png

Cindy

Beneath the Big Screen: Chicago and Movies Underground

average rating is 5 out of 5
Fun walk through Chicago learning about the city, movies, and history. Kelli had great visuals and kept us warm and dry in Feb with knowing how to navigate underground walkways.

Apr 1, 2024

trip-advisor-logo.png

Anonymous

In-Person Talk

average rating is 5 out of 5
Wow, I loved this program [Black Movie History and Chicago] because it reminds me of how important it is to have talks about classic cinema.

Feb 6, 2024

trip-advisor-logo.png

Danielle

Art of Ferris Bueller

average rating is 5 out of 5
What a great way to learn about art through the perspective of character development and narrative flow. Kelli uses her gift of teaching to great advantage. Her meticulous research and knowledge of a beloved film gave us a memorable way to take in an iconic home of art. No overwhelm, just a great afternoon at the Art Institute.

Jan 20, 2024

trip-advisor-logo.png

Todd Miller

Dark Hollywood in Chicago

average rating is 5 out of 5
Best Chicago tour I’ve been on. Don’t miss it!!

Nov 11, 2023

trip-advisor-logo.png

Kathy

Dark Hollywood in Chicago

average rating is 5 out of 5
An enjoyable afternoon was spent in Chicago's Oz Park and I learned many fun facts about the close tie between the beloved Wizard of Oz movie and Chicago. Kelli was a fantastic tour leader - would recommend her on any tour she leads!

Oct 29, 2023

trip-advisor-logo.png
bottom of page